Nominations open for Scottish Squash Annual Awards 2022-23

The Scottish Squash Annual Awards provide the perfect opportunity to recognise, reward and celebrate the outstanding accomplishments of the fantastic people who are contributing great things to squash in Scotland. 

The 2023 edition will be particularly special, as we make a return to an in-person celebration for the first time in seven years. 

Seven award categories are up for grabs and all nominations for each category, apart from the Services to Squash award*, must relate to the 2022-23 season. If you can identify an individual, team or club who have excelled over the last twelve months, we would love to hear from you. 

The closing date for nominations is 11am on Monday 10th July 2023. 

Decisions made by the Awards Panel will be final. Details and a brief profile of the winners may be used for promotional purposes. 

Award winners will be announced at the Scottish Squash Annual Awards on Saturday 7th October 2023, with full details for that event to be announced soon. 

Categories and Criteria 

Junior Player of the Year (sponsored by former Scottish Squash President, Jim Hay) 

Awarded to the junior player (under 19 years of age throughout the 2022-23 season) competing domestically and/or internationally who has achieved the most over the past twelve months and whose performances and conduct on court have inspired others. 

Former Scottish Squash President, Jim Hay, has kindly provided sponsorship for the Junior Player of the Year award for the period 2018-2028. As a result of this sponsorship, the winner will receive a cash award of £200. 

Senior Player of the Year 

Awarded to the player competing domestically and/or internationally who has achieved notable success over the past twelve months and whose performances and conduct on court have inspired others. 

Masters Player of the Year (sponsored by iPROSPORTS) 

Awarded to the Masters player (aged over 35 years throughout the 2022-23 season) competing domestically and/or internationally who has achieved notable success over the past twelve months and whose performances and conduct on court have inspired others. 

Coach or Coaching Team of the Year 

This award will be made to a Coach or Coaching Team who have had a significant impact on the people they coach. 

What we are looking for: 

  • has delivered regular quality coaching sessions to a group or to individual athletes; 
  • has helped their athlete(s) or team(s) reach their potential through dedicated support; 
  • has invested time and energy in their development as a coach, undertaking continuous professional development opportunities; 
  • created a safe, inclusive and enjoyable environment for participation; 
  • has demonstrated innovative practice in their coaching; and 
  • has adopted an athlete/player-centred approach to coaching. 

Referee of the Year 

This award will go to a referee who has shown considerable commitment to support the delivery of the competitions across all levels of the sport. 

What we are looking for: 

  • has shown an outstanding contribution to squash in Scotland in any refereeing/officiating capacity, going above and beyond the minimum requirements for their certification/grade; 
  • is an ambassador for squash in Scotland and a role model, inspiring new and existing refereeing through their work; and 
  • has shown personal development over the past year. 

Club of the Year 

This award will be offered to a club that has provided an outstanding service to their members, the sport of squash and to the wider community. 

What we are looking for: 

  • has grown its membership over the year and/or the number of people playing, working or volunteering in squash, providing excellent customer service to all; 
  • has a strong club committee/leadership team with excellent working relationships between the committee, coach(es) and members, with a strong focus on financial sustainability; 
  • is inclusive and has good links with the local community; and 
  • shows innovation and creativity for running a successful club. 

Services to Squash 

This award will be presented to an individual who has shown outstanding dedication or made an exceptional contribution to the sport of squash through a lifetime dedicated to the sport. 

What we are looking for: 

  • examples of dedication and/or involvement within the administration, development, coaching, mentoring, refereeing or any other relevant role in which without them, the sport of squash would not be the same; and 
  • examples of how their contribution over a period of many years has significantly improved the sport of squash. 

*There is no relevant time period for the Services to Squash award, since this award relates to all activities and volunteering undertaken to support squash, often over a period of many years. 

How to Nominate 

To nominate in any of the categories, simply click on the form below and make your nomination. The form is very easy to complete and should take no longer than 10 minutes of your time. Please ensure that you provide evidence that demonstrates where the criteria has been met. 

Nomination form 

Terms and Conditions 

  1. Entries open at 9am on Thursday 1st June 2023. 
  2. All entries must be received by 11am on Monday 10th  July 2023. 
  3. Nominees must be members of Scottish Squash. 
  4. Nominees can nominate themselves or be nominated by someone else. 
  5. Scottish Squash employees are not eligible to win any awards categories. 
  6. All sections of the online electronic nomination form must be completed. 
  7. If you require the nomination form in a different format, please email 
  8. The Awards Panel’s decision is final, and no correspondence will be entered into. 
  9. The information you have provided about your nominee will only be used in connection with the Scottish Squash Annual Awards 2023 and not for any other purposes. 
  10. The nominee may be contacted by a Scottish Squash representative during the nomination process and prior to the awards being presented. 
  11. Information from the nomination form may be used for publicity purposes with the nominee’s permission. A nominee’s story will not be used for any other purpose, and their details will not be passed on without their permission.  
  12. Entry via the nomination form implies acceptance of these terms and conditions.