# SCOTTISH SQUASH LIMITED (SSL)



# ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 14:00 HRS 15<sup>TH</sup> SEPTEMBER 2019 ORIAM, SCOTLAND'S SPORTS PERFORMANCE CENTRE HERIOT-WATT UNIVERSITY EDINBURGH

## **EH14 4AS**

#### **MINUTES**

**Present:** M. Maitland, G. Tierney, D. Ferguson, J MacBride, I. Morrison, A. McGouldrick, J. Hay, R. Stewart, J. Martin, A. Penman, K. Oversby, M. Grant & G. Adderley

**SSL Board (in attendance):** M. Adderley (Chair), M. Still (CEO), A. Marshall, P. Charlton, W. McAllister & L. Aitken

SSL Staff (in attendance): A. McKay, G. McKay, R. Cairns, M. McKenzie & D. Fallon

## 1. Welcome

Mr Mark Adderley, the President and Chair of the Management Board, welcomed everyone to the Annual General Meeting (AGM).

## 2. Apologies

A list of those who submitted apologies can be found in Appendix 1.

## 3. Minutes of Previous Meeting

The minutes of the 2018 AGM were approved as a true and accurate reflection of the 2018 AGM. Proposed: J. Hay / Seconded: W. McAllister

There were no matters arising.

# 4. Annual Report

The Chair referred to the Annual Report that had been circulated with the AGM papers and asked for approval and/or comments.

The Annual Report was approved by the members. Proposed: J. Hay / Seconded: P. Charlton

There followed a presentation, in which The Chair introduced SSL's current and recently launched strategic plan: 'A Sport for Health', and the Executive Team outlined the achievements of the organisation within the last year and the targets going forward into the next year and beyond.

## 5. Adoption of Accounts

The examined income and expenditure accounts were approved. Proposed: J. MacBride / Seconded: A. Marshall

The Chair indicated that, despite a rising membership, membership income is currently based solely on league team participation levels and this has declined in recent years. The Board have set up a Membership Working Group to review the current membership structure and to explore possible alternative membership structures. Consultation with regions, clubs and members is due to get underway and any revised membership structure(s) will be presented at a future SSL AGM.

## 6. Confirmation of Directors

- D. Massey stepped down as Director
- B. Easson stepped down as Director
- L. Aitken has joined as a Non Executive Director (Player Nominee)

#### 7. AOCB

- J. MacBride expressed support for the growth of SSL's social media reach.
- J. Macbride enquired if there was a strategy to increase female volunteers at Board level M. Adderley confirmed that SSL are working on this while representatives with specific skills are required to replace outgoing Directors.

The meeting was followed by the Annual Awards presentation.

Annual Award Winners:

Club of the Year - Forthill Squash Club Coach of the Year - Jane Martin Junior Player of the Year - Georgia Adderley Senior Player of the Year - Rory Stewart Masters Player of the Year - Ian Ross Referee of the Year - Steffan Gwyn

# 2019 Annual General Meeting

# Appendix 1

# **Apologies**

- 1. John Crawford
- 2. Archie McCue
- 3. Mike Halpin
- 4. Ian Ross
- 5. Allan Law
- 6. Keith Gristwood
- 7. Steffan Gwyn
- 8. Eric Donohoe
- 9. David Massey
- 10. David Coutts
- 11. George Mieras
- 12. Paul Bell
- 13. Bob Easson