Scotland Masters Players take to the International stage

Scotland are pleased to confirm teams that have been selected to represent Scotland in the 2018 Masters Home Internationals.

12 different teams, ranging from Men’s Over 35 to Men’s Over 70 and Women’s Over 35 to Women’s Over 55, will go head to head at various events throughout April and May this year. The first event gets underway in Cardiff this weekend (20th & 21st April) when the Scotland Men’s Over 35 & 55 team and Women’s Over 55 team take on England, Ireland and Wales.

The Men’s Over 40 & 60 and Women’s Over 35 team will compete on home soil when the Scotland event takes place at Aberdeen Squash & Racketball Club on Friday 18th and Saturday 19th May 2018.

Jim Hay, Scottish Squash President, spoke ahead of the first teams going away this weekend to Cardiff.

“We congratulate you all on your selection to represent Scotland at the forthcoming Masters Home International events and wish all teams all the best of luck in their matches.

“It is an honour to represent your country and I’m sure even those who have been selected multiple times still get a thrill from their selection.”

The full teams selected to represent Scotland this year can be seen below.


Men’s Over 35

Fernando Vicente (Captain)

Mike Martin

Peter Buchan

Ian Adamson

Billy Scott

Graham Lind

Women’s Over 35/40

Ailsa Polworth (Captain)

Helen Nicol

Susie Lind

Elaine Inglis

Men’s Over 40

Barry Masson (Captain)

Stuart Ayton

Scott Hay

Peter O’Hara

Blair McKenzie

Keith Simpson

Simon Boughton

Men’s Over 45

Douglas Emery (Captain)

Angus Woodward

Chris Turlik

David Massey

John Kynoch

Paul Jenkins

Women’s Over 45

Julia Horsburgh (Captain)

Fiona McLean

Sue Strachan

Heather Spens

Moira Atkinson

Jane Davey

Men’s Over 50

Brian Robertson (Captain)

Russell Hunter

Mark James

Colin McMullan

Martin Sanchez

Andy McCulley

Women’s Over 50

Ashley Mears (Captain)

Sue Strachan

Pauline Douglas

Moira Atkinson

Helen Cordiner

Men’s Over 55

Chris Holt (Captain)

Alan Thomson

Jimmy Wells

Robin Ridley

Keith Murray

Roddy Robinson

Women’s Over 55

Pauline Douglas (Captain)

Christina Graham

Claire Thompson

Fiona McLean

Bernie Beatie

Eunice Bond

Joyce Leach

Men’s Over 60

Robin Ridley (Captain)

Keith Gristwood

Peter Shivas

Paul Harris

Boyd Kidd

John Charles

John Rae

Men’s Over 65

Jim Dougal (Captain)

Dave Sturman

Ian Ross

Ernie Cowell

Emilio Fazzi

Walter McAllister

Alex Sinclair

John Rae

Men’s Over 70

Ian Ross (Captain)

George Stirrat

Tom Kane

Bernard Starkey

Alastair McMeckan

Ken Reid