Sanctioned Events

Following a review of the competition structure and consultation with regions and clubs, Scottish Squash are implementing a new competition structure for the 2017/18 season. The new competition structure will take effect from the new season and links to both junior and senior competitions.

The Regulations for Sanctioned Events containing further information for clubs, regions and tournament organisers is available here.

The aims behind the competition restructure are:

  • To provide a competition structure for players at all levels of the player pathway;
  • To provide national rankings for all competitive players;
  • To support clubs and regions to develop effective opportunities for competition.


There will now be four levels of competition:


These are local tournaments that mainly attract players from within the region. They are 1 day events that aim to have players playing as many games as possible in a relatively relaxed atmosphere and flexible structure. The Bronze application form can be found here.


These are open tournaments that are run in a graded format for all levels. Tournament organisers can choose whether to run a Junior Silver event or combined Junior/Senior Silver event. The Silver application form can be found here.


There are 6 Gold events in one season, 3 junior and 3 senior. Gold events are run in age groups at junior level and men’s and women’s open at senior level. These tournaments will typically attract the higher ranked players throughout the country and will link to selection for representative events. The Gold application form can be found here.


There will be 5 regional Masters events plus the Scottish Masters National Championships that link to the Masters circuit and Masters ranking points. The region that are awarded the bid to host the Scottish Masters National Championships will not host a Masters regional competition. The Masters competitions sit separate from the Bronze, Silver and Gold competition structure which is specifically aimed at junior and senior level. All players aged over 35 years are encouraged and welcome to compete in the Masters competitions.

A copy of the Scottish Squash Masters Ranking Points Structure can be downloaded here and the latest ranking points can be downloaded from the Scottish Squash Rankings section of the website.

The National Masters Selection Procedures & Criteria to determine the Masters Teams that represent Scotland at the Masters Home Internationals can be downloaded here.


These events cover National and European events and will attract the highest ranked players and occasionally players from throughout Europe.


Clubs/Venues can bid to host Platinum events. The essential requirements from Clubs to host each Platinum event can be found in the Regulations for Sanctioned Events document or by clicking here. In order for Scottish Squash to monitor the implementation of the new competition structure, all Platinum events will be awarded for one year. Platinum events have been awarded to the following clubs for the 2017/18 season:

  • Scottish Junior Nationals – Friday 2nd – Sunday 4th February 2018 – Aberdeen Squash & Racketball Club
  • Scottish Senior Nationals – Friday 2nd – Sunday 4th March 2018 – Edinburgh Sports Club
  • Scottish Masters Nationals – Friday 9th – Sunday 11th March 2018 – Inverness Tennis & Squash Club
  • Scottish Junior Inter-Regional Team Championships – Friday 20th – Sunday 22nd April 2018 – Scotstoun Squash Club
  • Scottish Senior Inter-Regional Team Championships* – Friday 25th -Sunday 27th May 2018 – Edinburgh Sports Club
  • Masters Home Internationals – Friday 18th – Saturday 19th May 2018 – Aberdeen Squash & Racketball Club
  • Scottish Racketball Nationals – Saturday 28th – Sunday 29th April 2018 – Dumfries Squash & Racketball Club

*New event for season 2017/18


Anyone wishing to discuss the competition structure further should contact